Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya

HISTORY Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya

     On January 8, 2005 in the 9th day of 2 lunar month, His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (ninth reign) signed the “Rajamangala University of Technology Act,”. The law, announced in the Royal Gazette ten days later before coming into effect on January 18, 2005, combines all nine Rajamangala University of Technology (RMUT) located all over Thailand; namely, RMUT 

Thanyaburi, RMUT Krungthep, RMUT Tawan-ok, RMUT Phra Nakhon, RMUT Rattanakosin, RMUT Lanna, RMUT Isarn, RMUT Suvarnabhumi and RMUT Srivijaya.

     The main aim of decentralization to all regions in Thailand is to foster independence and flexibility so they handle their own affairs under the university council. Apart from this, 

another intention is to turn these nine universities into science and technology universities offering advanced vocational training in undergraduate, graduate and Ph.D. levels to facilitate 

vocational students and to provide educational opportunities to those who graduated from community colleges. All nine RMUT have been under the supervision of the Office of 

Commission on Higher Education (OCHE), Ministry of Education. 

     Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya, (RMUTSV), is one of the universities in the group of Rajamangala University of Technology (RMUT). RMUTSV is located in the south of

Thailand. The university is made up of three provincial areas including five campuses namely; Songklha Campus, Nakhon Si Thammarat (Thung Yai) Campus Nakhon Si Thammarat (Sai Yai) Campus, Nakhon Si Thammarat (Khanom) Campus, and Trang Campus. RMUTSV offers education at the high vocational and graduate level in eleven faculties, three colleges, two institutes, one research center, and one Aquarium museum such as the faculties of  Business Administration, Agriculture, Liberal Arts, Management Technology Science and Technology, Agro-industry, Engineering, Architecture, Science and Fisheries, Technology Veterinary Medicine, College of Industrial Technology and Management and Rattaphum College, College of Hospitality and Tourism, and Rajamangala Aquarium Trang. Currently RMUTSV has more than 16,000 students. There are about 4,000-5,000 enrollments each year.