Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya



         On January 8, 2005 in the 9th day of 2 lunar month, His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej (ninth reign) signed the “Rajamangala University of Technology Act,”. The law, announced in the Royal Gazette ten days later before coming into effect on January 18, 2005, combines all nine Rajamangala University of Technology (RMUT) located all over Thailand; namely, RMUT Thanyaburi, Krungthep, Tawan-ok, Phra Nakhon, Rattanakosin, Lanna, Isarn, Suvarnabhumi and RMUT Srivijaya
         The main aim of decentralization to all regions in Thailand is to foster independence and flexibility so they handle their own affairs under the university council. Apart from this, another intention is to turn these nine universities into science and technology universities offering advanced vocational training in undergraduate, graduate and Ph.D. levels to facilitate vocational students and to provide educational opportunities to those who graduated from community colleges. All nine RMUT have been under the supervision of the Office of Commission on Higher Education (OCHE), Ministry of Education

         Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya, (RUTS), is one of the universities in the group of Rajamangala University of Technology (RMUT). RUTS is located in the south of Thailand.